Fencing Game

 

New Project Announcement

I’ve been working on a fencing game for the last few months with a friend of mine. Its coming along nicely. We hope to have it finished during the summer, but we’re close to having an alpha of the primary gameplay, perhaps by the end of the month.
I thought I’d get time to work on the programming language tutorial set, but my energy has gone into this and I thought better than producing some half rate work.

About the Game

My friend Sean is the lead designer (being a fencer!) and also doing almost all of the art. I’m doing most of the programming, and acting as a sub-designer of sorts. It is interesting work, particularly writing game AI which I’ve never done before.

The game is quite simple. It is round based, you can attack, block and sprint. You can play against a friend using an XBox controller or play against the AI. For the full game we want to make a tournament system, where you control a team of fencers who will have different statistics. Winning will be partly about pairing off your fencers against the opposing team in the correct order as overcoming the individuals in the interactive fights.

Here is a quick video I made of the current gameplay. This features a bug (which has since been fixed), where the screen declaring the winner appears instantaneously and doesn’t tell you who won.

 The rounds are reasonably quick, it gets tense and more fun towards the end when you have only a couple of rounds left to go! The AI can be really mean, it does this thing where he can step back one pixel away from your attack, and then step in a pixel and hit you. It is also quite non-deterministic, but we’re thinking almost too much so at the moment.

We Need You!

What I’m hoping for is a few volunteers for testing the outcome of our next iteration. This will be primarily to get feedback on the gameplay, but also an initial test for deployment, performance issues on strange machines, etc. I’ve never deployed a C#/XNA game before so I hope it won’t be particularly tricky. What would be really great is if we could get someone who has an XBox controller they can use with their PC to try out the multiplayer for us.Let me know in the comments if you are interested.

2 Responses to “Fencing Game”

  1. Fantastic! I would not object to wiping the dust off of my Windows box in order to give this a try. I’ve done a small amount of fencing in the past, so hopefully that will avail me some defense against your AI concoctions. Glad to see you making such impressive-looking progress!

  2. bbarrett Says:

    Cheers, that would help immensely!

Leave a Reply

